SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Writing a journal article

dalsaan

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi everyone

I have been reading Australian literature on withdrawal. There is very little of it and it's disturbing. The only article written for general practitioners says you should taper for 5-7 days or longer

I am thinking about writing an article and submitting it to aust family physician-the ket gp journal. I'm not a doctor but I am an academic and can review/write up the literature. It's a bit cheeky but will see how I go!

I was going to write a really cranky article critiquing the lack of care and knowledge but decided that wouldn't be as useful as getting something out there in a constructive informative way. It's only going to be basic key points but given what's out there that would still be a contribution and the word count is 1500 words so that's not much

I have journal articles for most of the key points. Does anyone know a journal article that supports a 10 percent taper?

Please note - I am not a medical practitioner and I do not give medical advice. I offer an opinion based on my own experiences, reading and discussion with others.On Effexor for 2 months at the start of 2005. Had extreme insomnia as an adverse reaction. Changed to mirtazapine. Have been trying to get off since mid 2008 with numerous failures including CTs and slow (but not slow enough tapers)Have slow tapered at 10 per cent or less for years. I have liquid mirtazapine made at a compounding chemist.

Was on 1.6 ml as at 19 March 2014.

Dropped to 1.5 ml 7 June 2014. Dropped to 1.4 in about September.

Dropped to 1.3 on 20 December 2014. Dropped to 1.2 in mid Jan 2015.

Dropped to 1 ml in late Feb 2015. I think my old medication had run out of puff so I tried 1ml when I got the new stuff and it seems to be going ok. Sleep has been good over the last week (as of 13/3/15).