Shaunna49: Introduction

Shaunna49

Hi everyone,

I have been following this site for quite awhile but this is my first time posting.  I slow tapered my way down to 16 mg of Cymbalta from September, 2019-August, 2020 and was hit with severe withdrawals.  It was absolute hell: severe anxiety and panic attacks, no appetite, insomnia and it went on for five weeks.  After that I had two weeks of absolutely no withdrawal symptoms and then they hit again with the same force as the first time even though I had been holding at 63 beads the entire time with no change.  

The second episode of withdrawal was in some ways scarier than the first and in a panic and under pressure from family I updosed to 30 mg and had severe suicidal ideation so I updosed to 60 mg thinking that would help.  It has in some ways, I do have my appetite back and am sleeping better but I still feel the low level unease most of the time and cry frequently.  Now that my head is a bit clearer, I am so incredibly upset with myself for updosing because I certainly don't feel as good as I had hoped.  I still have a tremendous amount of anxiety and am just feeling very down on myself. 

I am a member of another support group for getting off Cymbalta but have experienced too much fear and blaming on that site and prefer the encouragement I have found on this forum.  If I understand correctly, my only option at this point is to hold until I stabilize and then start the taper over but at a much slower rate.  My question is will I ever stabilize?  It's been 2.5 months and I'm still struggling quite a bit.

Thanks so much for your help.

1999- 2010 Zoloft, no taper off Zoloft put on Prozac 20 mg

2010-  Prozac 40 mg

2014-  Prozac 60 mg

September, 2016-  fast taper off Prozac put on Lexapro 10 mg./Increase dose to 20 mg. after 6 weeks.

December, 2016-  fast taper off Lexapro and put back on Prozac 60 mg.

September, 2018  fast taper off Prozac put on 30 mg Cymbalta

June, 2019-  Increase Cymbalta to 60 mg.