MattAmitriptyline: Introduction - tapering off 100mg Amitriptyline

MattAmitriptyline

Hi all, 

I decided to make some big changes at the end of 2020, one of which was to finally ditch my long-standing antidepressant, Amitriptyline 100mg. 

I’ve been tapering according to the ‘advice’ of a psychiatrist and while seeing a counselor weekly, and I’ve made it down to 0... but I’m feeling pretty scattered, anxious, and sick to my stomach... a lot of the time. I’m also glad to have made it this far, and I’ve kicked some other bad habits along the way (marijuana and cigarettes). 

I’m feeling hopeful, but right in the middle of the worst of it... and I find myself thinking about “trying” a new antidepressant often these days... just to quiet my head a little bit. I don’t intend on doing that... but I am often in rough mental shape these days. 

Not looking for any specific advice, just support and understanding. This is my first time posting here, and I’m glad I found this community! 

Edited by manymoretodays
name to tile
  • manymoretodays changed the title to MattAmitriptyline: Introduction - tapering off 100mg Amitriptyline
  • Administrator

Welcome, @MattAmitriptyline

Counseling people about tapering is what we do here. If you are feeling sick with withdrawal symptoms, strongly recommend you stop tapering now and let your nervous system settle down.

How much amitriptyline are you taking now?

See Tips for tapering off amitriptyline

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.

"It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has surpassed our humanity." -- Albert Einstein

All postings © copyrighted.