SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Eddie123: amitriptyline withdrawel

Eddie123

hi 

im a 43 year old male who was put on  10mg amittriptlyne on october 6th 2020 for a bout of chronic insomnia that i had for 6month,i took this drug for 3 months and went cold turkey 30 days ago ,i stoped takeing the drug as it was makeing me feel really tired and depressed ,i am a self employed gas engineer ,are these withdrawel symptoms that i am presenting at the moment-

severe morning anxiety

health anxiety

constant nerve tingling /twitching in head and face 

stomach bloating 

acid reflux 

fuzzy feeling in head 

i wished i never had taken this drug as my withdrawel symptoms seem to be gettin worse ,or do i need to speak to my gp and get mri scan for my head,any advice would be very much appeciated .

many thanks 

Edited by Shep
removed real name

10mg amittriptlyne on october 6th 2020 for a bout of chronic insomnia that i had for 6month,i took this drug for 3 months and went cold turkey 30 days ago (January 1, 2021)

• manymoretodays changed the title to Eddie123: amitriptyline withdrawel
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi, Eddie.

Welcome to Surviving Antidepressants. 

These do sounds like withdrawal symptoms.

On 2/1/2021 at 7:15 AM, Eddie123 said:

severe morning anxiety

health anxiety

constant nerve tingling /twitching in head and face 

stomach bloating 

acid reflux 

fuzzy feeling in head

Please see:

Early-morning waking - managing the morning cortisol spike

Health anxiety, hypochondria and obsession with symptoms

Occasional neuromuscular symptoms: tics, twitches, fasciculations, spasms, cramps, restless legs

Digestive problems: nausea, diarrhoea, bloating, GERD

Head noise and other symptoms in the head

This list may be helpful:

Dr. Joseph Glenmullen's withdrawal symptom checklist

On 2/1/2021 at 7:15 AM, Eddie123 said: