MaryMoo429: Introduction

MaryMoo429

My name is Mary and I'm a 31 year old female from Portland, Maine. I work as a case worker at a women's homeless shelter/housing first program and I have been on a cocktail of psych meds consistently since I was 14 years old. I recently jumped off of my last psych med, Lexapro on September 14th 2020. I started tapering in May of 2020 and cut down 25% every month  - going from 10mg to 0mg in roughly 4 months time. I now know, after discovering this site too late, that this was too fast. This was recommended by my doctor and she actually considered this to be a slow taper. I had actually done a similar taper off of 40mg of Prozac under the same doctor's supervision a couple of years prior. Needless to say this was a failed attempt due to serious withdrawal which I didn't understand at the time. I actually thought I was dying and that there was something seriously, medically wrong with me.

My psych med history is very convoluted and intertwined with substance and alcohol abuse and I have been two rehab twice, once in the summer of 2016 for addiction to prescription meds and illicit substances and once again in November of 2019 for alcohol, prescription meds and illicit substance . A brief description of my psych med history is as follows: 

Prozac: 20-40mg from 2006-2019 (cold turkeyed off once in roughly 2008, once again in probably 2012 and once again in 2016 when going to drug rehab. Each time I ended up back on Prozac after suffering bad panic attacks months later. I Tried to taper off again in 2018 but went back on after having bad panic attacks come back after a few months off). Prozac is the psych med that I was on the longest.