JessSbal: Took 3 pills (10 mg) of citalopram

JessSbal

Hello everyone, I'd like to thank in advance for reading this.

Last week I took 3 half-pills of Citalopram (10 mg). I have mild depression, and this was given me to help psychotherapy.

The first night, I only had insomnia and the next day I felt my libido at zero, so I look up better the side effects, and found about PSSD and this group. I started feeling very anxious and couldn't sleep. 5 days have passed, still have anxiety and insomnia, and know I kinda feel apathetic and can't have an orgasm.

I can't understand if I had an adverse reaction to the drug or if the most of it it's psychosomatic. I read in different forums that insomnia, anxiety and low libido are common site effects that ware off after two weeks, but honestly after all that I've read I don't think the risk is worth the benefit.

Do you have any advice?

Also, I'm a medical student. I knew the side effects because i did psychiatry last year. We weren't told that side effects would be so present and that the sexual ones were so frequent (or could be irriversibile). They told us of withdrawal, but that everything would be okay if you tapered off lightly (and that's not clearly true). I really feel sorry for all I've read.

Edited by Gridley

10 mg of Citalopram for three days

10/03/2021: insomnia

11/03/2021: insomnia and a bit of anxiety, low libido

12/03/2021: insomnia, anxiety and anorgasmia

stopped taking them at this point. Currently have a bit of apathy (but still cry), a bit of anxiety, insomnia, low libido and anorgasmia

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to SA, JessSbal.