SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Hefy: getting off Effexor

Hefy

Hi! I have been tapering so slowly from 75 mg of Effexor since April of 2019. When I got to 37.5 I started only removing 1 bead( 1mg per my manufacture)  I got really sick. I last tapered  on February 18, 2021 and I am still suffering. I have lost 13 pounds and I can barely get out of bed. I updosed back to 37.5 4 weeks ago and last night I added 3 more beads. I researched a compound pharmacy and the cost was crazy! It’s not something I can afford each month.  I have waited in between my tapers at least 4 weeks, 6-8 if I was still having withdrawals. My question is how will I ever get off if 1 mg does this to me? I know the percentage goes up the lower I go but I’m so discouraged. I’m not sure what to do now. I have been on Effexor over 20 years, I was up to 225mg and did a fast taper in 2017 at the advice from my doctor ended up in the hospital and went back to 75. After a year and a half I started a slow 5% reduction. I thought I was doing everything right, am I stuck on it forever? Thanks !

Heffy

• ChessieCat changed the title to Hefy: getting off Effexor
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi Hefy and welcome to SA.

In order to assess your situation we need to know more about how you have tapered.  That is, the dates you made the reductions and what doses in mg you took.  It sounds like you have been tapering carefully but there may have been a time/times when you made a reduction which was too large or you have gone up and down in doses.  We also need to know what other drugs and supplements, previous and current; include these in your drug signature requested below.

Please create your drug signature following these instructions.  We also need to know other previous and current drugs and supplements.

So that we will be notified, please make a post stating that you have made your signature.  Thank you.

Instructions:  Withdrawal History Signature