Kaceyjay: Vraylar Withdrawal - Considering Reinstatement

Kaceyjay

Hi there all,

I'm new to the forum, but not to the Mad Movement or the Psych Survivor Community. I'm a writer and artist. But I'm currently struggling so hard with a Vraylar taper that I thought I did carefully enough, but apparently not. I'm pretty crippled by exhaustion at the moment. Considering a reinstatement of it at a lower dose but not too sure what that dose would be because vrayar has a confusing half life. When I stopped it all together, I was taking 1.5mg every 4 days. So much for that idea. lol. funny not funny. You'd think such a small dose won't destroy you, but it has. I've heard the last bit is the hardest but somehow I didn't believe it, I had a pretty easy time with the others so I was naive I guess.

Can anyone help me with the math here? I guess reinstating at half of the last dose would be safe enough. But absolutely no idea how to calculate that. I found a compounding pharmacy that can help so once I have that dose, I'll be set to try the taper again. God I hope someone can help.

I don't know how to do signatures yet but here's my history:

4 hospitalizations, bipolar 1 diagnosis at 21

meds: god knows all of them through the years but most recently: Small dose of lithium, Lexapro, Lamictal and was on high dose of latuda before coming off that onto vraylar. I've weaned off everything. Vraylar was the last one.

Oh Jesus, OK: 

• 2015-September 2019 - Lexapro (20mg)
  • 2016-May 2020 - Lithium (300mg)
  • 2014 - December 2019 - Latuda (160mg)
  • 2014 - November 2020 - Lamictal (250mg)
  • December 2019 - April 28, 2021 - Vraylar (1.5 every other day)
  • 2018-2019 - SKetamine
  • 2015 - 2019 - Xanax PRN
  • Others w/o dates farther back: Abilify, Zyprexa, Depakote, Geodon, Effexor, Prozac (can't remember all)
  • Diagnosis: Major depression with psychotic features, Bipolar 1 (age 21).
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi Kacey and welcome to SA.