SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

45006 Hello

I've been off and on a bunch of anti-depressants since I was about 14 in the mid 90s, mostly SSRIs (I'm 40 now). I've tapered myself off of most of them pretty successfully (maybe a little fast a few times, but generally over several months). However, I have been taking 50mg of Amitriptyline for just over a year now to help with post-surgery/chronic pain. It did help! But I realize that, among a few other side effects that I don't love but are tolerable, it's been making my vision TERRIBLE, and I'm an artist and that just doesn't work for me (I figured this out because I accidentally missed a few doses back in Dec 2020  and my vision GOT BETTER). I'm mostly looking to taper to a MUCH lower amount to see if I that will reduce my vision issues and perhaps completely quit the drug at some point. I asked my doctor about this in Feb 2021 and he was amenable, noted that I might have a return to chronic pain, but was willing to see if it worked. He told me he would give me a months supply of 50mg/day, but in 25mg pills, and to alternate taking two one night and one the next for a month, then just dropping down to 25mg after that. After a month of doing that I was doing ok, but felt kind of strange, so I opted to continue this pattern for another month. After another week, I realized this was making me feel really off and decided to start cutting up tablets instead, which is tricky with Amitriptyline. I started taking a pill and a half on the regular about mid-April 2021. I did ok with this but was getting a bit spacey and definitely kind of sad feeling, and it was getting a bit harder all the time to sleep. I was also starting to forget things as I was talking about them, which is disturbing.  I usually have a decent memory, although it's taken a beating the past three years due to very active chronic illness and resulting chronic pain. But the memory thing since adjusting