sweetrhey: Tapered and 2 weeks off

sweetrhey

Hello, I have been tapering for several months and am 2 weeks off completely. This last two weeks have been extremely hard and I’ve struggled with such ups and downs, strong emotions and irritability towards the people I love that are around me. I still get dizzy and am experiencing headaches and occasional brain zaps. I fear I’m pushing those I love away from me and yet I can’t help my emotional state. I’m afraid this may be who I am after 22 years of being in an antidepressant, or is it the withdrawals and my brain getting back to normal? Any advice or help would be much appreciated.

Edited by arbor

I have been on some sort of antidepressant for 22 years. The last 2 years I was on Zoloft 100mg, Buspirone mg 2x a day (the last year I’ve only done it 1x at bed time), Ambien (I don’t remember the dosage) at bed time, and clonazepam 5mg I think.

in the last year I have successfully got off all of them except Zoloft, which is what I’m doing now. My last dose of Zoloft was at 25mg, that was 22 days ago, I just realized it’s been 3 weeks now. I came off at that dose because I was traveling and forgot my Zoloft and had no way of getting a Rx until I got back to my doctor.

• arbor changed the title to sweetrhey: Tapered and 2 weeks off
  • Moderator Emeritus

Welcome @sweetrhey to SA.

I'm sorry you're experiencing these symptoms.  Unfortunately they are typical of psycho-drug withdrawal.  I understand the fear that this is who I am now after years on AD's.   These are all really difficult symptoms, but the good news is that they aren't permanent and your emotional state, with time will heal.   Time and patience are our allies.

To get you started and to give you the most pertinent information, could you complete your signature to include the dates and dosages (or as close as you can recall) of your taper and final use of your drugs from the last two years.  Here's a link that can help you with that: