Twinmom: All better 3-6 years later

Twinmom's Introduction topic:  twinmom-long-term-effects-of-ssri-discontinuation

Hi,

Something reminded today me of my time on this forum back around 2015, and I came to report that I've been doing very well for the past several years, after about 18 months on Zoloft, and a probably reckless (Dr prescribed) tapering approach back then. I think it took about 3 years with some ups and downs to feel fully recovered (2019 stands out). My mood changes and uncharacteristic short-lived depression symptoms can be particular intense during certain times of the month, but the older I get the better I know my body, and these mood swings are not related to my medication history with an SSRI, but from increasing PMS and menstrual symptoms in my mid-40s (apparently this is a thing - extra tough periods in your 40s). 2017 and 2018 (both antidepressant-free) were also very good, but I think there was still some still some unresolved stuff. I remember trying counseling a few times for anger/irritability/anxiety/depression related management, and it was too difficult still for me to process in that way (I have found verbal therapy sessions are too draining for me). But now, probably over 6 years later, it all feels like very much in the past, and as noted, I know my body and mind better than I did before. I know that I'm very sensitive to any medication. I know that conventional doctors try to help me with various mild medical issues with medications (e.g., hormone-based medications), and that I need to strongly advocate this fact that I have intense side effects to most medications tried. And that this sensitivity probably only gets more as I get older. My lesson learned over time is that I'm very sensitive to most medications, and that I need to advocate this fact when talking with my medical professionals. Healing thoughts to everyone out there struggling.

Edited by ChessieCat
add intro topic link