SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

JeaneenS: Tapering off Lyrica

JeaneenS

Six years ago I was desperate to find relief from the debilitating pain I was experiencing from having had shingles-Postherpetic neuralgia.  Even though I had worked in healthcare for 25 years I was very naive when it came to taking meds.  I was a hospital social worker.  My desperation and naïveté resulted in my ending up on Lyrica.  The side effects have been many with the worst for me being tremendous weight gain.

• ChessieCat changed the title to JeaneenS: Tapering off Lyrica
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hello Jeaneen, welcome to Surviving Antidepressants.  We are a volunteer-run community of people who have been or are getting off of psychiatric drugs.  Are you still taking the Lyrica?  We have a moderator here who can help you @MerryJayneFriday.  

On 2/12/2022 at 7:16 PM, JeaneenS said:

My desperation and naïveté resulted in my ending up on Lyrica

I understand, I was in the same boat, as were many of us in here.  

Can you please give us specific information about your drug history for all drugs you are on and have been on, especially for the past 18-24 months?  It would be especially helpful to have the details of your drugs in a concise vertical list (no symptoms), only drug names, specific dates (as best you can say for example early March if you don't recall the day) and dosages of each medication decrease or increase.  Use this format:

Drug name: date, dose, date, dose, date, dose…

Drug name: date, dose, date, dose, date, dose…

Etcetera

Please read the link below for instructions.  This will allow us to give you the best guidance.  

How to List Drug History in Signature

Here is some information about how these drugs actually work.   This explains why we get symptoms from going off of these medications, and why it's important to taper slowly and carefully, and be very cautious about changing our doses: