SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

KittyKat Trying to kick the habit...

KittyKat

Hey everyone, my name is Mirjam and I'm a 29-year-old student from Germany. I've been on various meds for the the last 11 1/2 years, primarily SSRIs (Prozac, Celexa and many others) but also neuroleptics, SNRIs, tricyclics and benzos (to be honest, I think I've lost track at some point ;) ). I've been diagnosed with borderline personality disorder, recurrent depressive disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, panic disorder and dissociative disorder. I've been in hospital for eight weeks now and will be for another three weeks. The last med I was on was Celexa, I believe I was on 20 mg when I came here. I took 10 mg for three weeks and then stopped taking it two weeks ago (at my own initiative). I still take 15 mg of Aponal as needed.

I have tried to quit SSRIs several times before. They don't help me as much as they should and I can't tolerate the side effects. While the first week without Celexa was okayish, the last days have been horrible. My thoughts are running rampant, I've been severely depressed, panicky and suicidal, and the dissociative symptoms have also increased. I've been advised to try a different med, but I would really like to come off the SSRIs once and for all. I'm torn between wanting to quit and suffering so badly that I would do anything only to make it stop. I think that maybe the past days have been so horrible because I've been expecting them to be horrible, kind of like a self-fulfilling prophecy. I'm very confused and don't know what to do. I would rather rely on self-healing, exercise etc. than pop pills for the rest of my life. I believe that it is possible and that I will get better at some point... but it is SO HARD and I'm very tempted to restart :(

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Mirjam, and welcome!

Wow, that is quite a medication history for a 29yo!

Why are you in hospital?