Vick: Request for help to start taper journey

Hi. I joined a few months ago but this is first time posting. I want to start toward coming off Venlafaxine 150 XR. Been on since 2018. Proir to that had come off 7 years Paroxatine (with GP not slow enough) and became REALLY ill, more than ever. I felt strongly it was discontinuation synd but gp said no and I felt i had no choice but to start again or do something final and was put on venlafaxine. I originally started a.d just before I got clean from drugs/alcohol and don't think I actually need anti deps (clean sober 12 years) or have serious depression.... mild was present throughout using,  but only really bad when I came off paroxatine.  Question is, how do I find a gp who will support in v slow taper. I live in Dorset. Mine were very dismissive and deniers. I'm a mental health professional and have knowledge, and lots of support from others,  but struggling to advise self. Thank you

2009 - 2017 Paroxatine

Nov 2017 - Feb 2018 Reduced Paroxatine

May 2018 - Present Venlafaxine XR 150 mg 

• ChessieCat changed the title to Vick: Request for help to start taper journey

Hi Vick, 

welcome to SA. Sorry your taper from paroxetine was so difficult. It is a very difficult drug to come off of. So is Venlafaxine. It is great that you are looking for support ahead of starting this time. It is also hard to find a GP who understands this though this is changing in the UK. You could give them sources such as this video. Or you could see our tips here - the other two threads have links to academic articles that help. 

https://www.survivingantidepressants.org/topic/20161-how-to-talk-to-a-doctor-about-tapering-and-withdrawal-what-to-expect/

Why taper by 10% of my dosage? - Tapering - Surviving Antidepressants

Why taper? SERT transporter occupancy studies show importance of gradual change in plasma concentration - Tapering - Surviving Antidepressants