Feel like my life has no meaning

Tallguy1

I was a broadcasting major and earned a degree in late 2015. I was unable to find any kind of work in that field. I've worked in a warehouse ever since. I also don't have any kind of friends, relationship or much of anything. I'm taking addiction counseling classes for maybe a job down the line. That's the work side of things. I like the exercise component of the job though. I've also been off Zoloft for a year, so I'm adapting to that new normal, so the exercise might help but I also feel kind of alone. I'm really feeling lost right now.

Zoloft December 2014-August 2021

Last dose 25 mg 

Previously mirtazapine October 2014-July 2015

Withdrawal symptoms: irritability, dizziness, lightheadedness, headache.

I think it's important to develop long-term interests that make you happy. Personally, I'm a musician. Most of my happiness in life doesn't come from work or from other people, it comes from the time I spend playing an instrument or writing and recording new material. This comes with tons of various activities and goals that individually bring me joy and purpose. Practicing, researching techniques, setting and achieving long-term goals such as "write an album" or "learn how to produce this genre", "play some shows" or "learn how to play these scales". It's an entire world of passion, joy, and achievement that wouldn't exist unless I immersed myself in this particular interest. I think one of the most important things you can do for yourself is to immerse yourself in some sort of interest that gives your life some direction. It's not all about work, or love, or being somebody, sometimes you just need a simple pleasure to indulge in, preferably one that comes with a learning curve and identifiable milestones for achievement. Without something like that, of course you're going to feel lost and a little pointless. You've got to explore the world.