Suikerwater: taper after 3 weeks of escitalopram

Suikerwater

Hello all, I'm new. Due to burnout/adrenal fatigue I was in fight & flight and together with my GP decided to try escitalopram. Now I started at 5 mg and the side effects were huge. Especially the fatigue (on top of my normal fatigue) was terrible. I gave it 3 weeks now but I still feel really tired most of the day and I can't feel if it's because of the escitalopram or the adrenal fatigue, hence I decided I want to quit (also I'm way calmer now and sleeping better again).

My GP said I could quit cold turkey, but since I'm sensitive and read everywhere I should taper I want to taper. They only supply liquid escitalopram which is 1mg/druplet. The GP said I could taper over a 4 week period, basically 4/3/2/1 mg for 1 week each step. This doesn't make sense to me since the serotine inhibitation isn't linear. I would rather start at 3 mg 1 week, 2mg 1 week, 1mg 1 week, 0,5mg 1 week for example, but I have zero experience with this. Because I used it for only 3 weeks I hope a loooong taper isn't required. 

Can you guys provide advice? Thank you in advance!

Additional info on supplements, I eat healthy (no alcohol and caffeine either):

• Multivitamine every day
  • 2x200mg magnesium (morning, evening)
  • fishoil 360 mg EPA and 240 mg DHA once a day
  • 2x500mg vitamine Ester-C

Citalopram 5mg 22-august-22 - 12-sept-22

Liquid citalopram 13-sept-22 4mg, 1mg down every week

Supplements: Multivitamine, magnesium mix, vit C-ester, fish oil 600mg, L-lysine, potassium, L-theanine with lemon balm.

• ChessieCat changed the title to Suikerwater: taper after 3 weeks of escitalopram

@Suikerwater

Welcome to SA. We are a volunteer ran site helping people taper off psychiatric medications or have tapered off and are now healing.