gnomenclature: tapering Cymbalta, later Latuda and buspirone

gnomenclature

Hi 👋🏼 

I am just starting out on my journey to taper off antidepressants. I’ve been on cymbalta for about four years. I started it as a migraine prevention at 60mg. Over the last few months I’ve been up to 120 for depression. Now the side effects are too much for me, particularly the insomnia, and I’m realizing I have other side effects, too. 
In the last year I went down from 120 to 90 with no problem. My psychiatrist is suggesting doing the same now. I’m reading that 10% is the recommended amount to taper per month, but this is more than that. Should I be more conservative or or go with it since it worked ok for me before?

2017 cymbalta 60mg, august 2022 120mg, November 2022 down to 90mg. current
2019 Latuda 40mg  to present

2021 busprione 15mg to present

• ChessieCat changed the title to gnomenclature: tapering Cymbalta, later Latuda and buspirone
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi there gomenclature and welcome aboard,

Thank you for doing your signature.

Just go ahead and edit in- to present or current after each of them,  Easy Access back to signature is here: AccountsSettings/signature/edit/update:

2017 cymbalta 60mg, august 2022 120mg, November 2022 down to 90mg. current
2019 Latuda 40mg  to present

2021 busprione 15mg to present

I think that would make it clearer.  Can you add to your cymbalta line, just when you last went to 90 mg, and then when you went back up to 120 mg as well?

By the way, have you ever been a member here before?  I don't know why but your name seems familiar or something.

We go with a harm reduction model of tapering. The 10% or less taper recommendation is a harm reduction approach to going off psychiatric drugs.
******Why taper by 10% of my dosage? (just click on the underlined link to get to the underlined passages/or topics, then start with the first post in topic)
Important ^