Neurological changes made by SSRI

npanth

I wrote an article about the neurological changes that SSRI make. I was thinking about the differences and similarities to other drugs, and what structural mechanism in the brain causes withdrawal symptoms. I'm not an expert in neurophysiology, but I studied it as an undergrad and since I started tapering.

http://npanth.wordpress.com/2012/06/12/how-ssri-work-in-withdrawal/

Paxil/Paroxetine/Seroxat

2000 - 2011: 40mg/day

2017 0mg/day

Great article. I wish I'd read it before I did my way-too-fast taper.

Thanks.

06/12 - Tapered off Cipralex. 30mg/Lithium 600mg/Epival 500mg

Very difficult time with 3-month taper off all drugs.

11/12 - Doc prescribed clonazepam 1 mg. for insomnia

01/14 - Clonazepan taper from 1 mg to .75 mg, then liquid microtaper to .638 mg. Depersonalization, extreme fatigue, muscle aches off/on.

05/15 - Switched to dry cut at .625 mg. Ok for 2-3 weeks, then same strong symptoms. Holding .625 mg.

06/15 - Switched over to liquid dosing .3125 ml 2x/day, 11 am & 11 pm.  Symptoms mild and no sleep issues.  Holding .625 mg/day.

10/15 - down to .530 mg. clonazepam in 4 months. .265 mg 2x/ day @ 10 am/10 pm. 

11/15 - holding at .528

11/15 - started microtaper to relieve persistent w/d symptoms

01/16 - microtaper not improving things; extremely sensitive to slightest decreases 

02/16 - holding at .524. 

• Moderator Emeritus

Thanks for sharing.

*** Please note this is not medical advice,discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner***

http://prozacwithdrawal.blogspot.com/
Original drug was sertraline/Zoloft, switched to Prozac in 2007.