Punky: punkhead

punky

I am trying to get off paxil the withdrawls are so bad that I am ready to go back on. I am wondering if anyone knows if there is a place to go to see which antidepressants are addictive like the paxil and which aren't. I am told by doctors I am not addicted to the paxil, I would love to give them the flu with a constant head ache, than tazer them every couple of seconds. See how they like the feeling.

Im sorry to say that all antidepressants ar addictive, they cannot be 'classed' as addictive because they do not have the CRAVING that alot of 'addictive' drugs have but they all have consequences on w/d. Some ssris have a longer half life than others, effexor and Paxil being the shortest and Prozac being the longest.

But that doesnt mean no withdrawal, it just means it hits you later down the road, with paxil the w/d symptoms are there as soon as you stop of miss a dose or during your taper.

I am no expert but I do know those facts.

Im sure Alto and some of the experts will be along to advise you soon, but please do not make any changes to your medication until you know what you are dealing with, and be sure that you want to come of the meds and for the right reasons, its iportant to know that once withdrawal hits sometimes restarting the medication will not work and in some cases (like mine) will make things worse.

withdrawal can last for a very very long time unless you taper very slowly. If you want to come off the paxil and you are sure its the right choice for you then the experts on here will be able to advise and guide you through a slow taper.

good luck.

damaged by citalopram - severe suffering for 3 years now...no improvement

akathsiia, pgad, dp/dr, terror, and so SO many more daily

severly disabled and lost everything

punkhead,