Acquaria16 Change Antidepressant to 5-Htp?

Acquaria16

Hello all - newbie here and thankful there are forums like this.

I'm interested in changing from Remeron to 5-htp and would like to know if anyone has made the change over from an antidepressant to either 5-Htp or L-tryptophan?

Just read a few books on the subject like: "How to quit without feeling like ****" and "Mood Cure". Both books talk about how people can transition off antidepressants and onto amino acids like 5-htp.

Would be grateful to hear any feedback from users who have done this.

Hello,

I have not done this and I don't think it is particularly common because I don't think it is particularly easy.

Others will be along to share other specific precautions and experiences, I suspect.

As far as I undertsand, it is very unwise to take 5-htp at the same time as a Rx antidepressant. Please consult a medical professional before beginning on supplements while taking prescription medication.

I, once off of my antidepressant, have taken 5-htp and tryptophan. I didn't do well on 5-htp -- after a few days I started getting electric zaps. I did better on tryptophan, but I take neither at the moment so I don't recall tryptophan being particularly helpful.

If you are looking for mood relief, studies have found regular outdoor exercise more effective (safer and cheaper too) than any compound you ingest. It may take a while to see results but, I'd recommend a month of 30 minute-a-day moderate exercise like walking, if you are in good health. I'd also recommend increasing social interaction. A great way to get out and engage with others is to take a class or join a club around a hobby or area of interest such as knitting, cooking or throwing the discus.

Cheers,

Alex

"Well my ship's been split to splinters and it's sinking fast
I'm drowning in the poison, got no future, got no past
But my heart is not weary, it's light and it's free
I've got nothing but affection for all those who sailed with me.