ddeepbblue: New Kid In Town

ddeepbblue

Finding this site (via an article on psychology today website)and reading stories similar to my own

has brought me great relief. Relief that I am not alone in what I am experiencing, and that there is a name to it.

My journey with antidepressants began in April 1996, starting off with a low dose of Zoloft. Over time the dose had to be increased to the max dose as it quit working for me. I was then moved on to Wellbutrin, and eventually it quit working, and so on.

I eventually moved on to Effexlor, increasing over time to the highest dose. My doctor moved me on to Pristiq, then after a couple of years back to Effexlor. About a year ago was decreased to 37.5.

During a much needed vacation in Hawai'i, the return to my highly stressful job situation was a huge wake-up call. The job itself is not stressful, and I love it. (Working with dogs.) I have been working a split-shift schedule for the last two years, plus doing dog rescue on weekends, and caring for an elderly friend, leaving very little time to take care of myself. I met with my employer to let her know we needed to make a different arrangement, that i could no longer continue to have such long days. She didn't take it well. She is very difficult to work for, with a non-stop chaotic and stress filled environment that I could no longer tolerate.

Upon my return from Hawai'i in late October of this year, I discontinued taking Effexlor all together. Other than being lightheaded, symptoms were minimal. Until about 3 weeks ago.