SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

DanWilson On Zoloft for 5 years

DanWilson

Hey, I'm new here (obviously). I'm 19 years old, got started on Zoloft when I was 13. I was on it for 5 years, getting off it before I started college at 18. I don't know the dosage rates I took (I never kept track of that), but if I remember correctly I was told it was about average for my age. Basically, I think my libido is way below average for a 19 year old male, and I have a very hard time remembering things, both of which I've found to be side-effects of SSRIs. I'm not really good at writing lengthy blocks of my problems so here's the 3 big questions I have:

1. How long will it take for the Zoloft to work its way out of my system?

2. Could I have done any permanent damage to myself (Memory, Libido, etc) by taking it for so long or taking it at such a young age?

3. Are there any solution's to try and remedy these problems (without more meds)?

Thanks, I'll try and be more descriptive in later posts.

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the site, DanW,

Someone with more knowledge will be along to answer you better than I can. I'm pretty sure the Zoloft is out of your body by now, though. Most of the problems we encounter are caused by the medicine leaving the body too fast.

I'm sorry you are still having issues. Please browse through the site, you should find some helpful information.

Welcome! to answer your last question..there is great info in symptoms and self care.

This is the club no one wants to be in.

We should at least have t-shirts and a cool handshake!

In all seriousness, you have found a great resource here.

Started Fluoxetine Jan. 2010

Tried to go off of it in Sept. 2010

Weaned too fast and was back on it by Nov. 2010

Didn't work as good the second time around.

Started to wean again in Nov. 2011 and was off for good by April? 2012

• Administrator

Welcome, DanW.

When did you last take Zoloft?