Finn: Hello

Finn

Hi! I'm Finn. I'm new here, looking for advice on how to get off Effexor with the least amount of suffering. I want to get off because while technically I might no longer count as "depressed," I don't really feel like I've gotten my normal self back. It's like I'm numb to excitement, pleasure, other emotions and motivation. I'm just kind of existing, you know :(

I have a history of sexual and emotional abuse. I was first labeled "not normal" when I was around 12, but I managed to stay off drugs until last August. My psychiatrist told me at my first appointment with her that without meds, I would have a 98% chance of relapse. I'm not denying I have pretty chronic lows, but I am also an artist and a sensitive person, and I do not want to live like this!

I take 112,5mg of Effexor. I tried to go down to 75mg, but after a week and a half, I hit a wall of depression and took the 37,5mg. I didn't "taper" any slower than reducing my dose by the 37,5mg pills I have. How can I go about tapering for the least possible cost?

Tapering Zoloft, Dec 2014

Started Lamictal

Re-started Zoloft mid-Oct 2014, 25-50mg

Stopped Zoloft end of Sept 2014

Started Zoloft July 2014, 50mg

Stopped Prozac from 3mg May 2014

Stopped Effexor Dec '13 Started 10mg Prozac

Reinstated Effexor 15mg on Nov 2013

Stopped from 21mg on Oct 2013
Effexor 112.5mg, since Dec 2012

• Replies 285
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Finn

• Altostrata

• btdt

• Narcissus

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Finn, welcome! I'm an artist too. A painter. I'm getting off of Effexor myself for several reasons, but one

of these is similar to yours-I don't like the person I've become on Effexor.