DMaddie

DMaddie

Hi. I am brand new to this discussion and already I have learned alot about how to wean myself off of lexapro. I was initially prescribed this to treat IBS. I'm wondering if anyone knows of anything natural that helps during this process. I never knew the potency of lexapro compared to other antidepressants or the length of time it will take to completely rid this from my system. Has anyone else had lexapro prescribed to them for IBS?

I took Lexapro to get off Paxil. It was a nasty drug to get off of. Usually tricyclics are prescribed for IBS.

Was just on another post about combining Fish Oil and Vit E for WD.

I spent alot of money on supplements while tapering Lexapro. For me it was a complete waste. for others, not so.

Nikki

Intro: http://survivingantidepressants.org/index.php?/topic/1902-nikki-hi-my-rundown-with-ads/

Paxil 1997-2004

Crossed over to Lexapro Paxil not available

at Pharmacies GSK halted deliveries

Lexapro 40mgs

Lexapro taper (2years)

Imipramine

Imipramine and Celexa

Now Nefazadone/Imipramine 50mgs. each

45mgs. Serzone  50mgs. Imipramine

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi DMaddie,

Welcome to the forum.

You will find lots of friendly support and advice here.

Supplements tend to be hit or miss. Some people notice great improvements using them, others not so much.

For me, when I'm in withdrawal I'm hypersensitive to them - so they actually hinder my healing. Like Nikki, I spent a lot of money and it was a waste.

When I'm stable a supplement may help me for a few weeks and most and then my body adapts to it and it no longer works.

July 2001 prescribed 20mg citalopram for depression;
On and off meds from 2003-2006.
February 2006 back on 20mg citalopram and stayed on it until my last attempt at tapering in September 2011.
By far the worst withdrawal symptoms ever. Reinstated to 20mg citalopram
October 2012 - found this forum!