☼ SorrowExpert -- thought I was damaged for life, but I'm not.

SorrowExpert

I have been attempting to get off of Zyprexa for nearly three years now.  Soon after I started my taper three years ago, I developed severe agoraphobia, and it hasn't improved at all since then.  I've suffered constant chronic derealization and neurological pain every day since I started trying to taper.

Last November I was nearly to the end of my taper, and everything fell apart and I was hospitalized, where they SLAMMED me with nearly the maximum possible dose of Zyprexa overnight.  I nearly died in that place.

I've tapered back down to some small dose now.  But the damage has been seriously compounded, and I'm in agonizing pain every day.  During my last taper, I could at least go out and drive, sometimes, on days I was feeling good.  I could take long walks.  Now the neurological pain and derealization is so bad that I am confined to a room most of the time.  Much of the time, I am confined to my bed.

I will probably fail this taper as well.  Even if I do manage to get off of it, I am fairly certain that I have permanent neurological damage, and will have some type of protracted withdrawal syndrome that will continue for years.  I don't believe I will ever recover from the agoraphobia - the recovery rates are poor even for people not on medications and without the huge amount of problems I have.  

Every minute of the day the pain shoots through my head and body, and the derealization makes me constantly feel like I'm on some nightmare drug trip that I cannot escape.   I can't work, can't drive, can't walk, can't read, can't live.

My mother was recently diagnosed with dementia and late-onset schizophrenia.  Watching me suffer has driven her out of her mind.

Doctors have recommended trying other medications.  I know they won't work and will only make things worse.

I wish I'd never listened to them in the first place.  I wish I never trusted them.