SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Garin-Rough past 2 weeks/ Staying asleep

Garin

Hi, I am New to site. I quit cold turkey off of Lexapro and Abilify 2.5 weeks ago. I feel encouraged that some of my initial symptoms have lapsed including agitation, and brain zaps or heaviness, and the trip of emotions thereof. Right now my biggest issue is staying asleep. I'm seeing my primary care physician tommorrow. My family is very much against me ever coming off the meds and so is my psych doctor. I've tried touching on this issue before with them but they don't see eye to eye with me on this. At least things are out in the open now, and I have some control over my emotions now. At the time I did not really see any option presented by psych doctor to ever come off meds. I think if I could just get some restful sleep I would not be complaining so much. I also sleep on a CPAP for sleep apnea. Researching online and being informed has really helped me to know what to expect. Taking supplements, fish oil, D3, vitamin b, magnesium 400mg. Melatonin at night 5mg. I only sleep for a couple hours at a time. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Lexapro 20 mg

Abilify 30mg

Cold turkey as of June 30 2013

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Garin and welcome. This site doesn't recommend cold turkey as withdrawal can kick in 

later, sometimes months after.  I can't offer any advice myself except to listen to what 

the experts recommend, they really know their stuff and you can offer heaps of advice and

encouragement. Insomnia seems to be a common problem with withdrawal but there

are lots of suggestions in the self help thread.  :)

**I am not a medical professional, if in doubt please consult a doctor with withdrawal knowledge.

Different drugs occasionally (mostly benzos) 1976 - 1981 (no problem)

1993 - 2002 in and out of hospital. every type of drug + ECT. Staring with seroxat

2002  effexor.