hermitical deep into Cymbalta - duloxetine tapering

hermitical

Hi folks

I guess I'm looking after a little advice.

Been on a/d for 10 years now, intially Fluoxetine, then a year later Venlafaxine / Effexor 225mg. As I was later diagnosed with fibromyalgia I was put on Cymbalta - duloxetine 60mg and amitriptyline of which I take 10mg a night (this was after giving up on Lyrica - Pregablin).

I've been tapering off Cymbalta - duloxetine for the last 2 months or so. I started on 60mg, initially reducing by 6 beads a day, I soon upped that to 20 beads a day as things seemed ok. I counted them to start and made it 580 beads, though I've seen 560 elsewhere?

Things seem to have gone pretty well apart from my pain levels have increased a lot, and I am worn out a lot more than before (and I thought it was bad then!). There has been no major emotional dip, I'm quite irritable but we are also in the middle of a heat wave!

I am now down to 100 beads, with Tuesday 23rd July being the first day of zero beads at this rate. I must admit I am now more than a little scared and wondering if I should slow the taper for the last period or just bite the bullet and go for it. I was also wondering about boosting with 5-htp and l-tyrosine now that I am down to low levels of Duloxetine so SSRI syndrome won't be a danger.

Any thoughts or advice?

edited to add:

I should say that I am not clear of symtpoms, before and after the withdrawal I have fuzzy/foggy head, very tired, pain, nausea/hunger, dizziness and slowness, poor heat control etc etc

Edited by hermitical
  • Administrator

Welcome, hermitical.

By our standards, you are tapering rapidly.

If I were you, I would not reduce from 100 beads, I would hold for a good time, maybe a month, to see if your withdrawal symptoms get better.

See our topic on tapering Cymbalta http://survivingantidepressants.org/index.php?/topic/283-tips-for-tapering-off-cymbalta-duloxetine/