MNGirl: Off of A/D's for one year...

MNGirl

Hi all,

I've looked at this website here and there for the past year and found some great info.  A little history about my situation...  Back in 1999, I took one pill of ecstasy (absolutely hated the "trip") and it sent me into a tailspin of severe panic and anxiety.  It also caused some severe obsessive thinking.  A few weeks after taking the pill and suffering through constant panic, I went to a few doctors who all seemed to think it was "just anxiety" and some medication would take care of the issue.  I'd never had issues with anxiety prior to taking ecstasy.  I was a good student in school and was preoccupied with good grades, etc but anxiety was never an issue.  I could always cut loose, have fun, and leave my problems aside.  The doctors didn't seem convinced that I didn't have an anxiety disorder.  And, despite my new found fear of ingesting ANY kind of pill because of what happened with ecstasy and my reluctance to treat a drug-induced issue with another drug, I found myself with a prescription for an A/D.  And I started taking it.  That was 14 years ago.

I've been on and off several A/D's over the years.  I've also been prescribed, as needed, lorazepam and clonazepam, but those were on a very occasional basis. My final A/D that I took for a significant amount of time was Cymbalta (60 mg).  I grew increasingly angry that I was taking A/D's and was convinced that they were contributing to my anxiety.  So I did a relatively fast taper.  I did a few doses of Prozac to help with the withdrawal. 

My main reason for finding this site and deciding to post is to get support with my protracted withdrawal.  I have a fine psychiatrist who is not a "pill pusher" and supported my discontinuation of A/D's, but I also don't think he subscribes to the idea of protracted withdrawal.  My symptoms will be attributed to some sort of anxiety disorder which I just don't buy.