SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

3cav84a: G'Day from Down Under

3cav84a

G'day, my name is Neil and I live in Nairne South Australia. I am 63 years of age and I am a Vietnam Veteran, my user name was my callsign used over there. I finally succumbed to PTSD in 1998, up until then I thought I was just a very angry young man who always seemed to have crap on my liver. To make a long story short I ended up going to a shrink to get sorted out and after trying several anti deppresants finished up on Cymbalta. I have been on Cymbalta for about 5 years and once a couple of years ago I decided to give them up. I usually go bush for about 3 months of the year when I try some gold prospecting in Western Australia,
I think it's more for the isolation, being about 300 miles from the nearest town, just me and my dog.
So after day 1 I got the usual brain zaps but not just the occasional one but dozens of them every minute. Why I say dozens is because usually for me they come in 2, 3, 4 or even 5  in rapid succession like firing a .50 cal machine gun. If I get 10 of these in a minute which is common there is about 30-40 zaps right there. Well this went on for 11 weeks with no let up so when I got home the shrink put me onto them again.
    This time we tapered off them going from 60 to 30 mg and then stripping the capsuleand going down to 15 then for the last week of the taper there were only about 5-10 little balls of the stuff in the capsual. I have been off the Cymbalta now for 10 days and the brain zaps are as bad as ever and I know that they will go on for at least another 3 months minimum. I also have my short temper back and if my wife asks whats wrong I can't even describe what's happening, it's like I cant find the words to express my feelings so the best thing for me is to just shut up and get on with life. My son is getting married this Saturday so I have remain calm and enjoy the moment.