Flora: 13 years on Effexor...down to 18 mg every other day but can't get out of bed

Flora

Hi. My doctor put me on Effexor back in 2001 to treat symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome, and after starting the drug I was consistently happier than I'd ever been in my entire life. When I went on the medication, I was feeling a lot of anxiety from an unhappy marriage and starting a career in the tech field at a really bad time. All these years later, I'm happy, engaged to be married in a little over a month, I'm off from work for the summer because I'm a teacher, and it seems like the best time to finally get off this drug. I started my taper back in November and took a pause then at 37.5 mg. It was then that I did the most emotional suffering. Since school got out, I've been in a great mood but the physical side effects have kept me in bed almost all day. I feel that if I could spend one sh*tty week on the couch and then be fine it would all be worth it. So today, I tried going for second day with no medication and have felt really awful. Since my doctor doesn't really know anything about how to taper off this medication, I'm turning to you to help me figure out how to do this thing. Can someone suggest to me the best way to continue tapering as quickly as possible with as few side effects as possible? I sincerely look forward to your replies.

Effexor XR 2001 working up to 75mg

Increased to 150mg ~2003

Bumped up to 187.5 ~2007

Decreased to 150mg in 2010

Tapered down to 37.5 (generic non-XR) 11/2013

Last week of June alternating whole-half-whole for a week

First week of July half for a week

Started taking Temazepam (Restoril) 15mg on 7/3/14 daily for insomnia

Second week of July = fail

Intro post: http://survivingantidepressants.org/index.php?/topic/6690-13-years-on-effexordown-to-18-mg-every-other-day-but-cant-get-out-of-bed/

• Moderator Emeritus

Well, first, don't take it every other day, that's one of the worst things you can do to yourself!