KarD786: Looking to begin anti-depressant therapy, neurogenesis question

KarD786

Hello all, and thank you for any help/advice.

I have been doing more and more research on anti-depressants, and am looking to get on a short-term therapy treatment after telling myself for months that I would never resort to using them.

A little about my history. I am a 21 year old male who, up until a year ago, was living the life. My fitness health was in great standing, I was a straight A University student, and was happy all of the time. About a year ago, we briefly lost our medical insurance, and I started self medicating my thyroid medication. As a result I was not under doctor administration and put myself in a hyperthyroid state for almost a year. Even though we had regained insurance, the short term effects of being hyperthyroid made me happy and I stayed on them. Little did I know that thyroid hormone has a direct relationship with cortisol, and that I was flooding my body and organs with tons of cortisol.

After about six months I started getting fatigued, hypoglycemia, and a host of other side effects and at the time I did not know that it was the thyroid. During this time, my parents had also divorced, and there began coming tons of stress from there. So for the last year, I have been permanently stressed so to speak. Even if there was no outside aggresor, my elevated thyroid hormone had my adrenals working overtime.

Fast forward to Janurary of this year, I finally attributed the thyroid hormone to the reason for all my side effects. I was still feeling stable at this time and motivated for the future. It took about six weeks of feeling like crap and finally getting my thyroid numbers normal.