SidEffect. Same story, different person

SidEffect

I don’t know how much detail I need to go into here. I’m really even sure why I’m here, if I’m reaching out our journaling or what. Where do I start?

A short summary; I’ve been on Lexapro for at least a decade. Lately the side effects that I used to get when I would skip doses or try to quit started coming on when I wasn’t missing any. This was the last straw for me and I decided that this would be the time to kick for good. This is my first attempt with a Doctors’ knowledge and advice. I am seeing one of his P.A.s instead, because I don’t have good faith in my Doctor. It felt horrible walking into that office, but I’m trying not to hold it against the P.A. I don’t want to get side tracked but there is some anger there.

His orders are to take half my dose for two weeks, and then to take the half dose every other day for another two weeks. I am a week and a day in. The first week was great, really. The fog was lifting, the jitters were gone, no zaps, nothing! A little raw and tender sure, but I think that was just the numbness wearing off. I had a handle on it. The last couple of days though have been tough. Not depressed but just really sad. I’m managing, but I know things are going to get bumpier.

I have been on 10 mg Lexapro for at least 10 years. My Dr, has recommended that I take half a dose for 2 weeks and then skip every other dose for another two weeks.

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi sidEffect

Welcome to the forum. When you get a chance can you fill out your signature. Instruction on how to do that are here - http://survivingantidepressants.org/index.php?/topic/893-please-put-your-withdrawal-history-in-your-signature/

Your dr has provided standard advice on withdrawing. This kind of protocol has seen many members end up in deep withdrawal. We support a 10 percent taper regime. The following links provide derails of that and access to a thread specifically related to lexapro withdrawal