SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

unknownAD: Mirtazapine/Remeron - unknown effects, tapering off

unknownAD

Hello everyone,

I'm a 23 year old male and have been taking Remeron/mirtazapine for around 6 months. Everything about Remeron is very hard to explain or to know for sure. If it is causing the bad effects, what it's doing to my brain chemistry, if it will have lasting bad effects after I get off it, etc. I do not want to waste time or take Remeron for any period of time longer than i have to for fear of it causing side effects and changing my brain. So i have begun a taper, but do not want to rush it too much since i have found the discontinuation symptoms to be very real.

I just kind of need some advice/reassurance/experience. I have no one around with experience, and my prescribing doctor doesn't seem to think i should be having any trouble just stopping all together.

I was taking 30mg every evening, then eventually I began feeling the lack of it between doses and dosed twice a day for the past month. 

For the past two weeks I have been uncomfortable stabilizing at a lower dose; I split the 30mg in two to take 15mg once in the morning and once in the evening. Is this a good start to begin my taper? I know this is faster than recommended, but I am willing to suffer to not prolong things.

So I am stable at 15mg. What would be your next step? 15 mg once at night? Then 7.5 mg twice? or stick with one or the other; once at night or twice a day?

Lastly, this is just for others to possibly confirm my "assignment" of symptoms to the remeron. I feel a little more anxious than i used to be, and find it harder to express myself. In writing as well. I just have to type and keep going or i'll delete, think im not saying it right, and never get anywhere.

I just don't ever feel very relaxed or at ease, or confident.

Most importantly, I feel like it's changing my brain