Berty345: Hello Venlafaxine newbie here

Berty345

Hello,

I'm new on here, I'm trying to sort out my meds (& eventually come off them).

I'm currently on 300mg of Venlafaxine but am totally hopeless at taking them and am therefore often experiencing withdrawal symptoms. It's only when I start experiencing withdrawal symptoms that I remember that I've forgotten to take them!

I want to get off the roller coaster and get rid of Venlafaxine forever!

Long term user of Venlafaxine XL

Was on 300mg Venlafaxine XL (when I remembered to take them!)

Now cut down to 150mg daily 20/3/15

Hi Berty,

Welcome to the forum. You're in the right place. It's great that you found this site.

Sorry to hear that Venlafaxine ("Effexor") is giving you problems.

A moderator will be along soon to advise you on how to do a long, slow taper off this drug.

So many others on here who have been on Effexor can provide you with information on what you can expect to experience during WD.

WD symptoms for all SSRIs/SNRIs share many things in common, so you can benefit from the experience of all members on here.

I wish you the best of luck in your recovery. 

Hell hath no fury as an SSRI scorned.....

Prozac:   20 mg 1996 – May 2003 CT to 0 mg; by Aug 03 CRASH then protracted WD 3 yrs

Zoloft:    2004 few weeks;, CT to 0 mg

Effexor:  2005 few months CT to 0 mg; bad withdrawal. 

Lexapro:  10 mg from 2009 – 2011; cut dose in half to:

Lexapro:    5 mg from 2011 – Feb. 2014; CT to 0 mg; 2 months of fatigue, followed by:
Aug - Oct 2014 Lexapro WD Insomnia Wave; sleeping very good from Nov 2014 - Nov 2015; broken sleep pattern Dec 2015 - Jan 2016

Dec 2014 - present: Brutal Lexapro WD ear ringing/head ringing/head pressure lasting for 14 months now.

24 months SSRI-free  

• Moderator Emeritus

Hello Berty! Welcome to the forum.

We can definitely help you taper down your venlafaxine and get off it if you'd like.