Nalagirl: Again?!?!?

Nalagirl

Hello everyone!  I used to be a member on paxil progress and was very disheartened to see that it was gone.  I'm hear looking for reassurance and/or advice.  I quit taking Paxil in July 2013 after a short 10 month usage.  Afterwards, I went through about a year of withdrawal lessening all the time.  Then it cleared up and for about the last 5 - 6months I've been feeling back to myself.  So out of the blue Thursday night I had a panic attack, not full blown because I know how to diffuse them for the most part.  It was still really bad though and now I'm having some symptoms that remind me of withdrawal.  Dizzy/lightheaded,  tightness in jaw, slight anxiety (not near the level during actual withdrawal).  So is this withdrawal kicking back up?  Or me just having a wave of well....stress?  Any ideas?  How long should it last?  Thanks in advance!

Oh, I was brknlgrl on paxilprogress.

• Moderator Emeritus

I would be freaked out too!

I'm no expert by any means but from reading other people's threads, research articles, my own experience, etc., My vote is that it's a wave that will pass. The panic attack may have just set your still healing nervous system off. It seems like an excellent sign that you were able to mediate the intensity of the panic attack. That's not easily done in general, and even more difficult if you're in withdrawal.

Even though you feel recovered your nervous system and stress response may still be sensitive.

Be good to yourself. Get sleep, Do what you can to minimize any stress and I bet it passes relatively quickly. Just my two cents.

Please keep us updated!

1988-2012: Prozac @ 60mg (with a few stops and starts)

Fall 2012: Returned to 40mg after discontinuing and horrid withdrawal 

Fall 2013: 40mg Fluoxetine, added 150mg Wellbutrin to treat fatigue 

Winter 2014: Attempting to taper both (too fast)

April 2014: 9mg Fluoxetine + 37.5 Wellbutrin 

Summer 2014: 8 mg Fluoxetine + 0 Wellbutrin (way too fast a drop)