glina hello . . . introduction (new member) mirtazapine withdrawal

glina

hello . . .

glad to have found you.

i've put my medicine information in my signature.

i've been withdrawing from mirtazapine (remeron) VERY SLOWLY since 2013.

i count myself very very fortunate that the physician's assistant overseeing this medicine is mostly supportive of me withdrawing (about 90% supportive, 10% skeptical). he has a caring, flexible, consistent disposition and listens, takes my seriously, and seems to mostly have faith in me. 

this support from a medical professional is extremely rare;--and the first time i have really experienced such support--i value it completely and it is going a long way toward my reducing and perhaps even withdrawing from mirtazapine altogether.

withdrawing has been extremely difficult for me (but, for sure, i don't have to tell anyone else here that) and i need to add peer support to the support from my physician's assistant. (for me, as with so many others, there is no support from family and to ask for it would be disastrous . . . and friends, well i'm afraid even their best efforts would amount to stress (not a criticism of them, just a reality--i've accepted it). 

so here i am . . . and glad you'll have me.

my approach to withdrawing has been to reduce 7.5mgs from one day's dose only and hold there until withdrawal symptoms settle down and I am ready to reduce again, then begin the next reduction on a day that isn't back-to-back with the last one.

for example:     mon           15mgs

tues            7.5mgs

wed-sun    15mgs

then:                 mon          15mgs

tues           7.5mgs

wed-thur   15mgs

fri              7.5mgs

sat-sun     15mgs

and, so on.

as with so many others, i'm experiencing the ugly, the bad, and the good of withdrawal . . . i'd like to put more about that in another post . . . right now i'm pooped for having typed this introduction.