SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

clandestineninja Pristiq tapering

clandestineninja

Hey

So I discontinued the use of pristiq 12 weeks ago through decreasing from 50mg per day to a dose of 25mg per day(Had a compounding pharmacy add slow release agent to the crushed up tablet). I did this for a period of 2 weeks prior to ceasing pristiq. What I am wondering is other peoples experience with rapid discontinuation of pristiq similar to this and how long the withdrawal lasted for them. I am still very fatigued.

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome clandestineninja,

You have come off pristiq much too fast.  There is a possibility you could experience withdrawal symptoms which last for months, if not longer.  Please start a topic for yourself here:  Introductions and updates   so we can get to know you and your situation and offer some suggestions.

I'm not a doctor.  My comments are not medical advise. These are my opinions based on my own experience and what I've learned. Please discuss your situation with a medical practitioner who has knowledge of tapering and withdrawal...if you are lucky enough to find one.

My Introduction Thread

Full Drug and Withdrawal History

Brief Summary

Several SSRIs for 13 years starting 1997 (for mild to moderate partly situational anxiety) Xanax PRN ~ Various other drugs over the years for side effects

2 month 'taper' off Lexapro 2010

Short acute withdrawal, followed by 2 -3 months of improvement then delayed protracted withdrawal

DX ADHD followed by several years of stimulants and other drugs trying to manage increasing symptoms

Failed reinstatement of Lexapro and trial of Prozac (became suicidal)

May 2013 Found SA, learned about withdrawal, stopped taking drugs...healing begins.

Protracted withdrawal, with a very sensitized nervous system, slowly recovering as time passes

Supplements which have helped: Vitamin C, Magnesium, Taurine