Sancho: When to get off my medications

Sancho

I'm new to this world, so I apologize for my naiveté.  I was diagnosed with clinical depression 5 months ago and have been taking Pristiq and Wellbutrin for approximately 4 months (see medical history below) with "partial results", as my psychiatrist said.  I'm already experiencing side effects that worry and scare me—frequent urination, ringing in my ears, increased sweating, tremors, and others.  My question is very simple—when is the right time to get off medications?  Should I do it now in spite of my psychiatrist's warnings that I will get worse?  When did you decide to get off your medications?  Thank you for your advice.        

Pristiq 100mg. Feb/2015

Wellbutrin 300mg. Feb/2015

Clonazepam 2mg. Oct. 2014

Clonazepam 2mg. Feb. 2015

Clonazepam 1.75 Feb. 2015

Clonazepam 1.50 March 2015

Clonazepam 1.25 March 2015

Clonazepam 1.00 April 2015

Clonazepam .75 May 2015

• Moderator Emeritus

Hello Sancho , welcome to the site.   You'll find lots of information here about how to stop your medications safely , but you'll

need to take a little time to understand the process first.

Could you have another go at doing your signature please , including dosages.

I suspect that the side effects you're having now indicate that you may get worse if you STAY on the meds.  You'll get lots of advice

and support here to taper off them in an effective way.

If you click FOLLOW at the top right , you'll receive an email each time someone posts here.

Best wishes ,  Fresh 

1987-1997 pertofran , prothiaden , Prozac 1997-2002 Zoloft 2002-2004 effexor 2004-2010 Lexapro 40mg

2010-2012Cymbalta 120mg

Sept. 2012 -decreased 90mg in 6months. Care taken over by Dr Lucire in March 2013 , decreased last 30mg at 2mg per week over 3 months. July 21 , 2013- last dose of Cymbalta