SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Mikey1975: Sertraline withdrawal

Mikey1975

Hello im new to this , just to intruduce myself im from Bridgend southwales , i was on cipramil from 2000 till 2006 and then sertraline till 2012 which i then stopped and the doctor told me to tapper down over 4 weeks which didnt seem long as i had been on them for years , anyway at first i seemed ok apart from a bit sicky and a bad memory and i seemed to be ok for about a year and then these strange feeling started asin a strange feeling around my eye and ear and a bad head on the same side these dragged on for a while, the doctor just saying it was either sinus trouble or a needed glasses i also started to get sore joints about 2 years after i stopped i seemed to go down hill fast panic started creeping in and what i call a palpitation feeling constantly feeling like a bad vibration inside and my moods started where i would be ok one minute and foul the next with spells of anger the doctor kept saying it was just anxiety and you dont get withdrawals so long after at one point i felt so bad she convinced me it was anxiety returning and i needed to go back on sertraline which i did for about 5 weeks could soneone please tell me if this sounds like Wd and isit normal to feel ok for about a year after stopping and then get worse and worse

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mikey1975

• Petunia

• Rosie20yearsago

• Aliwill

Top Posters In This Topic

When the withdrawal symptoms appear some months after stopping completely the med, that has a name: protracted withdrawal.

If your symptoms are different or worse than those that you had prior medicated, these are signs of protracted withdrawal.

The same way science nowadays still don't understand completely how the human brain works, it does not understand the effects of the medicines that affect the brain.