Thaigirl - So close, yet so far....

ThaiGirl

I have been on Zoloft for 8 years, it was prescribed for post natal depression. I started at 50mg, and refused to go any higher. I have been tapering for 2 or 3 years - I've lost count. I am currently at about 20mg (a little under half a tablet), and went in to get a new script. My doctor wants to switch me to a new med...

Flash Back: One of the first things I noticed when I started The Z was the disconnection. I didn't feel any thing. Cold and logical, in the most heart warming or heart wrenching situations alike.  Then the anger came. It's the only emotion that came naturally and easily for 8 years. I had to force myself to act other emotions. Okay, that's probably an exaggeration, but it did seem that anger was the default. 

Today: I am so close to being done. I can finally see the end in sight. For the first time in 8 years I am beginning to feel normal again. I can think straight. I enjoy my kids. I'm actually genuinely happy. I am connecting with friends and family in a way I have not connected in years. Anger is no longer the default. 

So, the Dr says, let's change your med to help you get of The Z. I don't want to do that! I am so close! I know what to expect from The Z. I know how it effects me. I can recognize the withdrawal symptoms and I know how to deal with them. I'm afraid and little anxious. Hoping to find support here. 

8/2007 to 8/2008 Zoloft 50mg (quit cold turkey)

8/2009 to 4/2013 Zoloft 50mg

Began tapering 4/2013 10% every 2 weeks

7/14/13 - reduced the tapering to 10% every 4 weeks due to withdrawal problems. (was at 25mg, but went back to 35, as recommended by forum and doctor).

11/24/15 - currently at 20mg Zoloft.