amshizzle: Lexapro withdrawal - need advice/support

amshizzle

I had access to university doctors while enrolled in school and with a few months before I graduated, I decided to visit the psychiatrist. I’ve struggled with anxiety since I was 12 and was now experiencing worsening depression. May 31st I was placed on 50 mg of Zoloft. After about 2/2.5weeks my anxiety was worse due to the caffeine boost the medicine gave me. I was switched to Lexapro mid/end of June. I started at 10 mg and was quickly upped to 20 mg with only three days transition (3 days 15, then 20). I think the Psychiatrist rushed me on my medicine because I only had a few months until graduation and I would no longer be able to see her.

While At a concert on August 4th, I passed out and my whole body felt like it was on fire. The medics at the venue assumed that I had heatstroke and sent me home. Unfortunately, two days later, I was in the hospital for the same brings in sensations despite not being outside. After testing, phone calls to poison control, they assumed it was my Lexapro. Two days later I was in the hospital again and all my major organs were functioning properly. The doctor suggested I stay off the medicine. When the psychiatrist was consulted with, she only told me to push through it and did not offer support, a new medicine, or help with withdrawal.

I unfortunately went cold turkey.

Lexapro withdrawal has been absolutely brutal. I am currently on week five. I really came to this forum for support, positive words, and speak with others who survived this withdrawal and are functioning better. The last two weeks have been much better for me but today I woke up feeling like I did when this whole venture started.