Moya: insomnia meds poisoning - advice needed please

Moya

Need urgent advice please from South Africa. Unbearable pain... I don't know what to do. I have been drinking a sleeping tablet for 30 years, got tolerant to it and am currently on a dangerous cocktail. I don't want to die like this.... I use 7,5 mg Mirtazapine, 2 mg Rivotril / clonazapam, 40 mg Seroquel, TWO 12,5 mg Stilnox MR / Ambien slow release. I am poisoned and afraid of deep tissue pressure ulcers because I lost my muscle mass, also no padding left under my feet. Pain is unbearable. The doctors seem not to think the concoction is dangerous. I have blisters in my mouth, severe hair loss and acidic loose stools. Thank you.

Severe insomnia. Dormonoct 1990 - 1995. Stopped working. 0,5 mg Rivotrol / Clonazapam 1997. When that stopped working it was increased over the years till 2 mg. That stopped working. 10mg Stilnox / Ambien added. That stopped working. Replaced with 12,5mg Stilnox MR. That stopped working. Jan 2017 TWO Stilnox added as well as Seroquel for off label sleep. Jun 2017 Mirtazapine added for sleep.

• ChessieCat changed the title to Moya: insomnia meds poisoning - advice needed please
  • Administrator

Welcome, Moya.

I am sorry you're so ill.

It sounds to me like you are having an adverse reaction to this combination of drugs. Have you had kidney and liver function tests recently? If not, I would request these blood tests right away.

Please put ALL your drugs in the Drug Interactions Checker https://www.drugs.com/drug_interactions.php
and copy and paste the results or a link to them in this topic.

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.

"It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has surpassed our humanity." -- Albert Einstein

All postings © copyrighted.

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Moya,