EmergingFromTheVoid: Escitalopram taper

EmergingFromTheVoid

Hello All,

I'm new here and I'm still learning so please bare with me. 

I have been on antidepressants for approximately 8 years. I was on a combination of Escitalopram and Wellbutrin.

I was taking up to 30 mg a day of Escitalopram with the Wellbutrin (unsure of dosage) for several years.

About 5 years ago I tapered off the Wellbutrin because of the nasty side effects.

About 3 years ago I tapered down to 20 pm per day of the Escitalopram.

I have been in twice-monthly talk therapy for 3 months and plan to continue for at least another 4 or 5 months, maybe more.

I started to taper down my Escitalopram on October 18th, 2019. I cut my dose by 50%, down to 10 mg per day. I know that it is a drastic taper and that I should do it more gradually, but I have adjusted well so far. I journal daily to keep track of my mood, energy level, etc. I have had a few days, early in this taper from 20 mg to 10 mg per day, where I've had a bad headache, a few hours of nausea and some difficulty sleeping. It should be noted that I am also in surgical menopause, thanks to a very needed total hysterectomy that I had earlier this year.

Antidepressants: On ADs for approx. 8 years. 30 mg/day of Escitalopram w/ Wellbutrin (unsure of dosage), for several years. 5 years ago I tapered off Wellbutrin. 3 years ago I tapered to 20 mg/day of Escitalopram. I started to taper the Escitalopram again -- cut my dose to 10 mg/day on Oct. 21st, 2019 . Cut to 5 mg/day on Nov. 9th, 2019. Cut to 2.5 mg/day on Nov. 25th, 2019. Cut to 0 mg/day on Dec. 12th, 2019 -- AD Free! 🙂

Daily Supplements: One-A-Day Woman's Multivitamin, Caltrate Plus chewable, Cranberry pill w/ added vitamin C & E, Omega 3 and an Iron supplement. 

"This too shall pass."   

🎵 Fight Song by Rachel Platten🎵

All postings © copyrighted

Updated the title of my post to be more accurate.