Sammi: Quitting citalopram

Sammi

Hi...

I'm a newbie here and glad to have found this site. My story runs like this: I took citalopram for 10 years and started taking an excellent natural product alongside it when I began weaning off. I started weaning in August 2018, and took my last 2.5mg dose at the beginning of October 2019. The first reduction was 5mg, which was too much, but I persevered with it and eventually stabilized. After that I discovered the book Your Drug May Be Your Problem How and Why to Stop taking Psychiatric Medications by Breggin and Cohen and realized I might have to taper very slowly, so I started shaving off 2.5mg roughly every 6 weeks, sometimes longer, depending on symptoms.

Long story short, I did this for the last year and 2 months with very little upheaval, but I quit the drug completely 5 weeks ago. I was only taking 2.5mg and cannot even cut the pills any smaller without them disintegrating to powder...but I seem to be having many of the side effects of withdrawal. Thankfully, the brain zaps, sense of constant pressure on my brain, and severe headaches are all gone, so I can see there is progress....but I just wonder if I ought to be taking a little of the drug...to mitigate my withdrawal symptoms, or if at this point I ought to just persevere...

I live in Canada and cannot get liquid citalopram- at least not where I live. I have 20mg pills...what would be the right proportions of water to pill in order to then draw a 1mg. dose of citalopram with a pipette or syringe? I don't know that I will do this, but it might be worth a shot. To date I've been weaning off this drug with few issues. I only had issues when I initially started weaning in Aug. 2018 because I cut back too much; now I am having issues again, also perhaps because I quit too fast and need to wean more slowly still...

What is your experience? Thoughts?

Thanks so much

Sammi

Edited by Shep