Trav: trazodone question

waverunner

I have a friend coming off Trazadone but she is having problems. I am thinking she is coming down too fast but I could be wrong. Dropped 100 mg in a 2 week period.

From what to what I don't know.

I'm looking for basic information and experiences to pass on to her.

On another board I used to help people coming down from benzos and z-drugs (sleeping pills) but I have no experience with AD's. I think you would have more knowledge here on AD's.

Thankyou ahead.

Edited by Altostrata
split topic
  • Moderator Emeritus

I have a friend coming off Trazadone but she is having problems. I am thinking she is coming down too fast but I could be wrong. Dropped 100 mg in a 2 week period.

From what to what I don't know.

I'm looking for basic information and experiences to pass on to her.

On another board I used to help people coming down from benzos and z-drugs (sleeping pills) but I have no experience with AD's. I think you would have more knowledge here on AD's.

Thankyou ahead.

Hi Wave.. pretty sketchy info, but you can give her the standard. Cut 10% of the previous dose, same as benzos, and hold for one month before taking another cut. A common dose of trazadone might be 200 mgs BID.. which is strictly guesswork for purposes of an example only. So a 100 mgs drop would be 25% which is too high. As many as 70% or more people coming off antidepressants run into significant issues with withdrawal that complicate further efforts to taper. Tapers that are too rapid can have devastating health consequences, so it would behove her to come on herself.

As always, LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! A proud supporter of the 10% (or slower) rule.

Requip - 3/16 ZERO  Total time on 25 years.

Lyrica: 8/15 ZERO Total time on 7 or 8 yrs.

BENZO FREE 10/13 (started tapering 7/10)  Total time on 25 years.

Read my intro thread here, and check the about me section.  "No matter how cynical you get, it's almost impossible to keep up." Lily Tomlin

• Administrator