Intense pressure behind eyes/eye strain from SSRI WD?

nofriendsphoebe

Hi all,

I've been withdrawing from SSRIs for several months now and this past week have had brutal head/eye-related symptoms that I can hardly describe. It feels like there is pressure behind my eyes - sort of like when you really need coffee, but it doesn't go away and gets worse as the day goes on.  I can't tell if it's eye strain or fogginess in my head - it's not really affecting my concentration, but I'm constantly squeezing my eyes shut to  relieve the pressure. I tried eye drops and wearing my glasses more (I'm slightly nearsighted but rarely wear them) but nothing seems to be working. Anyone have similar issues? Do I need to see an eye doctor? Is it even eye-related?!?

2014 - started 10mg Escitalopram

2015-2017 - 15mg

2017 - feel lethargic; go down to 10mg, no WD symptoms 

2018 - try quitting cold turkey; bad WD, reinstate at 5mg  

2019 -2021 try to taper off too quickly, reinstate at 2.5mg and hold; few WD symptoms (headaches, GI symptoms, bouts of panic) but mostly windows!

2022: switch to liquid to begin tapering from 2.5 ML (didn't bridge from pill form first which may have led to more WD symptoms)

- Jan-March 2.3ML; GI symptoms (diarrhea, heartburn, stomach cramps); some panic/hypochondria; 

- March: 2.2ML; begin getting constant vertigo. take a steroid for two days at advice of ENT and have big setback 

Currently: 2.6 ML and holding 

Supplements: B12 and D3 for deficiencies; Magnesium 400mg + B2 400mg for migraines; fish oil