Jerome's benzo taper

Jerome

Hello, folks:

I'll be mainly over at the benzo forum, where my thread is called "lower the cut rate or more holds?", but wanted to introduce myself here so people will have some idea of who I am when I post outside that forum.

9 years on Ativan at mostly 6 mg/day in a single dose, guaranteed to produce interdose withdrawal symptoms. I finally realized that my symptoms (sx) were caused by Ativan and last July I started changing my doses gradually until I was taking 2 mg 3X day by November. That alone had major positive effects. I started a taper once I was stable on my meds. Milk didn't work so well for me as a solvent/dispersion agent, so I'm using a wet/dry taper based on Ativan's solubility in ethyl alcohol. I make the solution myself. I have a degree in science and 20+ years in labs, mostly pharmacology. I'm cutting at 0.017 mg/day, dealing with the > sx with periodic holds, and hoping to stay at this cut rate if I can.

Good luck to us all,

Jerome

72 years old, no history of AD meds. Single dose of Ativan ramped up to 6-8 mg/day (!) for 7 years, initial Rx for insomnia. Summer of 2012 I learned about IW sx and began the change to 3X day dosing, finishing in October. Big improvement in sx. I also take opiate pain meds.

Finally got under way with a hybrid [wet/dry] daily cut taper in Dec. 2012, at 0.0125 mg/day reduction. I was able to taper down from 8 mg/d to 4 mg/d in 2 years at that rate, interrupted by several medical adventures (heart block, wrist fracture, endocrine problem). I'm currently [9/2021] stable at 4 mg/d and plan to start a micro-taper at an initial reduction rate of 0.035 mg/d. Now (10/2023) at 1.75 mg/day, I'm getting what I think are some w/d sx. so maybe hold for a while.