Dock1480: Tapering off of a 3-4 month treatment

Dock1480

Hi everyone.  I'm pretty new to SSRI medication and medication in general.  I apologize for the initial block of text below but I figured I'd share my own brief, (doesn’t feel brief at all), history with anxiety and depression.  Second block explains my medication treatment, my subsequent tapering and the question I have for the group. 

I'm 32 now and prior to Dec 2013, I hadn’t had to take any medication of any kind save for the occasional ibuprophen for joint and muscle pain.  Starting in the summer of 2013, I noticed that I was periodically waking up in the middle of the night with 'loud mental noise' , (what I called it, didn’t know anything about anxiety), and intrusive thoughts which was causing quite a bit of distress.  Compounding my anxiety was the ever-present thought that 'I am going crazy.  This is what it must feel like to loose your mind.  How long will it be before I loose complete control of myself and hurt someone'.  These feelings were made all the more real by the fact that my aunt has been battling schizophrenia for many years and things like hearing voices, killing family pets and self-immolation are all things that have resulted from her condition. 

Apart from the occasional sleepless, distressful night, around mid Aug 2013 I had what I later would find out was a panic attack which shook me up.  Nothing particular seemed to trigger it.  Was just eating lunch at work when it came on.  Had no idea what it was happening to me and thought I was dying.  During the attack, my heart was racing which seemed to be the one symptom that alarmed my doctor.  After an ER checkup which found nothing out of the ordinary, I was told that if it happens again, they will put me on a heart monitor.