Today: 5 years free from the psych drug cocktail http://wp.me/p5nnb-c1u

GiaK

It’s been five years today since I completed a six year withdrawal process from a large cocktail of psychiatric drugs.  

http://wp.me/p5nnb-c1u

some musings about the last year. 

Everything Matters: Beyond Meds 

https://beyondmeds.com/

withdrawn from a cocktail of 6 psychiatric drugs that included every class of psych drug.

• Moderator Emeritus

Yay Monica! Five years ago, I remember; it was about the time we "met", on that benzo board which is now long gone. You were just coming off your last drug. Man, that was a rough time for you. (well not so great for me either at that time but not as bad as you.)

And it was your blog that got me started on the taper that I've been doing for five years now, which has given me back my life and my self. Thank you so much for sharing your journey. You've saved a lot of lives.

Started on Prozac and Xanax in 1992 for PTSD after an assault. One drug led to more, the usual story. Got sicker and sicker, but believed I needed the drugs for my "underlying disease". Long story...lost everything. Life savings, home, physical and mental health, relationships, friendships, ability to work, everything. Amitryptiline, Prozac, bupropion, buspirone, flurazepam, diazepam, alprazolam, Paxil, citalopram, lamotrigine, gabapentin...probably more I've forgotten. 

Started multidrug taper in Feb 2010.  Doing a very slow microtaper, down to low doses now and feeling SO much better, getting my old personality and my brain back! Able to work full time, have a full social life, and cope with stress better than ever. Not perfect, but much better. After 23 lost years. Big Pharma has a lot to answer for. And "medicine for profit" is just not a great idea.

Feb 15 2010:  300 mg Neurontin  200 Lamictal   10 Celexa      0.65 Xanax   and 5 mg Ambien 

Feb 10 2014:   62 Lamictal    1.1 Celexa         0.135 Xanax    1.8 Valium