Betsy: Hi, my introduction

Betsy

Hi:

My name is Betsy and I just joined today. :)  I don't know how to put my signature in so I will just tell you a little bit about myself. I was given a very large dose of klonopin for severe anxiety and insomnia. My pdoc tried every drug imaginable~~mainly SSRis and the older ADs, but they had a paradoxical effect on me. Hence, the benzo. I have been tapering off it for about 18 months, but the kpin taper made my insomnia horrible. I was getting maybe 3-4 hours sleep for well over a year. It nearly drove me to the edge of insanity.

Thus, about 6 months ago, my pdoc gave me a combo of meds to help me sleep. 150 mg trazodone (I tried lower doses but they did not work), 100 mg of Seroquel, and 700 mg of Gabapentin. I have been focusing on my benzo taper, but need to get off the rest of my medications.

I was on 10 mg of kpin, but the psych did a partial C/O and put me on 70 mg of Valium. I tapered 5% every 14 days, and recently began a dry, daily micro taper, which helps a lot. I have no symptoms to speak of, but the original bad insomnia which has now gone away. I am now on just .20 mg of kpin, and then I'm thinking of my Valium taper next. I want to be able to sleep through this. But I hear that APs and ADs can cause more harm than good. Especially long term. Plus I hear the taper off some of these drugs is bad. That scares me.

At first I was put on Remeron for sleep, but that failed. I just stopped taking it with no ill effects. I have a wonderful psychiatrist, and he lets me do what I feel comfortable with. I am thinking of maybe taking a break from my benzo taper, and try to taper off either the Seroquel or Trazodone next. But I have this great fear of not being able to sleep.